+1 281.825.5595


<< Back to blog posts

Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)

The majority of U.S. private sector businesses and their employees must meet OSHA safety and health requirements. Small businesses with fewer than 10 employees are partially exempt, meaning they are not required to maintain OSHA injury and illness records unless informed otherwise in writing by OSHA or the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Exclusion from the scope of OSHA requirements are:

  1. Public sector employees, such as those employed by state and local governments; 
  2. Self-employed individuals; 
  3. Family farms/ranches that do not have outside employees; and 
  4. Workers at facilities regulated by other federal agencies. 
  5. All U.S. employers must provide a safe and healthy place to work. There are four basic elements to all effective safety and health programs: 
  6. Management Commitment and Employee Involvement. The manager or management team leads the way, by setting policy, assigning and supporting responsibility, setting an example and involving employees. 
  7. Worksite Analysis. The worksite must continually be analyzed to identify all existing and potential hazards. 
  8. Hazard Prevention and Control. Methods to prevent or control existing or potential hazards are put in place and maintained. 
  9. Training for Employees, Supervisors, and Managers. Managers, supervisors, and employees are trained to understand and deal with worksite hazards. 

Rowland & Scott is available to assist employers with OSHA compliance including but not limited to preparation of Emergency Plans, Fire Safety Plans, Hazardous Materials reviews, First Aid requirements/training and Recordkeeping and Posting requirements. 

Feel free to call us at 281/825-5595 or info@rowlandandscott.com

<< Back to blog posts
Share this item